My name is Nickit (#3961). My foster family calls me Nick or Nicky. I am doing great, putting on weight, and growing into a sweet boy. I have these adorable little ears that are perfectly shaped like a triangle and look like tortilla chips! My foster mom thinks they are adorable.

I love my foster family and I am fitting right in with my host sister (a Golden) and her two cats. I love to play fetch and tug of war. I love to snuggle with my foster mom, too. I am a lap dog, after all, even as I grow. I love the company of my family and like to keep an eye on my host sister. My foster family thinks I would do best in a home with another dog (or dogs) that also enjoy playing all day. But I would also do well with someone who likes to spend time outdoors. I mind very well.

My sister and I love to wrestle, but the kitties, not so much. I do great with cats, though. But I like to sniff them and say hello, to see if they changed their minds and want to play. So far none have been interested and I am okay with that. I still like them. I would love to go to a home with a cat or two.

I am a bit mischievous when I play with my sister. I like to show off, because I am much more athletic than she is – so when Mom throws balls in the yard, I like to make sure I get there first! Sometimes I drop it so sis can get it, and snatch it back! We have so much fun. I love all sorts of toys – balls, chewies, stuffies, anything with a squeaker! I take it as a personal challenge to see if I can make those squeakers vanquish! I am good with sharing toys with my sister and I think I even taught her to vanquish those squeakers, too! We have so much fun!

I take treats like a gentleman, and sit politely and take it softly. I love snuggles, pets and kisses. I am quick to pick a spot on the couch or a dog bed to take naps and recharge my batteries. I have even been known to curl up in a tight ball and try to fit in a tiny dog bed my foster Mom had – I fit! I swear! I have exceptional hearing and will let my foster Mom know if there are any strangers entering the yard or approaching the house.

I still need my own space at feeding time – I am still a little anxious when it comes to meals, so Mom puts my bowl in a separate space so I can eat alone. I make a sound that makes my foster Mom call me “Wookie”, but I am not sure what that means. When dinner is over, she puts my bowl up so sis can’t lick it when I am not looking. I spent some time on the streets looking for something to eat, so I get so excited when it’s mealtime – with time my foster Mom thinks I will understand that a loving home will always ensure I have enough to eat, and I won’t have to sound like a “Wookie” anymore.

I do very well on a leash, but still need practice approaching strangers. I listen well, and remain on task when I am reminded. I am not much of a “marker” when we walk on the leash, but I do like to smell everything and take time to enjoy the scenery. I will generally wait until we get home to go potty. I like car rides, but longer rides do not always agree with me. Short rides are fine, but longer rides with windy roads can upset my tummy, so my foster Mom makes sure I get fresh air every so often when we go for longer rides. I love to ride and chill or just hang my head out the window – I don’t react to passerby’s (humans, dogs, etc). I make fast friends with women, but remain a bit guarded with men until I can totally sniff them and make sure they are trustworthy.

I have not had any issues with potty accidents in the house and “potty” on command in the yard outside. It’s best when I have a ball to chase to get there – it makes it much more fun. I do not chew on things I am not suppose to – but love to chew on my own toys. Once I mistook Mom’s sock for my own stuffy toy, but she forgave me – it was an old sock anyway. My host sister, the kitties, and I have been left alone for extended periods of time and I have never gotten in trouble. My Sis and I wait by the door for Mom to come home. I try so hard to be good.

Please come see me! I can’t wait to find my forever family. I am loyal and sweet and am a quick learner. I know how to sit and stay and with a little training I could learn all sorts of things. I really need someone or some family to love me. I am just a puppy and have gone through so much – give me a chance and I will show you how good I can be!



Sex: Male
Age: 0-2 Years
Weight: 45-65 Pounds
Availability: Now
Good with Dogs? yes
Good with Cats? yes
Good with Kids? yes