If you are looking for a sweet girl, with a lot of love to give, look no further than me, Missy (#3734).  I am a 5-year old, German shepherd/yellow Labrador retriever-mix (I think), who just wants to be with my person.  My favorite things in the world are being petted and brushed and receiving calm attention. That said, I am not demanding when my foster mom is working at home, and only check in occasionally for a quick scratch behind the ears.

I enjoy the company of my foster brother (who is 1/4 my size and weight) but might like another dog closer to my size (ahem, approximately 80lbs but I have a waist!) to play with.

I am very well-behaved, generally calm and very smart and curious about everything.  But not at all destructive.  I like to chew on a hard bone but am not very interested in most toys.
I sleep through the night and even learned to climb stairs to the second floor, which was new to me!

Although I don’t have much training other than “sit”, my foster mom thinks I would take to it quickly with positive reinforcement.

I used to be very timid on walks but now that I get to go for a walk each morning, it is my favorite part of my day! I had to get used to wearing a harness as I have a sensitive neck. But once I realized that harnesses can be a good thing, I didn’t mind them at all. My foster parents tell me I am an angel to walk with. I do not pull at all and walk right next to them occasionally looking back and checking to make sure they are still besides me. I am not terribly interested in things when I go for walks, I just enjoy the exercise and the fresh air.

I am an angel when my foster mom is out.  I do not have any separation anxiety and am not destructive. I rarely bark (except to go out) and have not been concerned about the mailman to date, but I am starting to give a warning bark when I hear an unusual noise outside.

As a big pup with some anxiety, I would do best in a home without cats or young active children, and would thrive in a calm, stable environment. I have been around children as young as 5-years old, but prefer not to play with them.  I especially like women and bond with them – my gal pals!

My foster mom says my big beautiful brown eyes say it all – I am an adoring companion looking for someone with a big heart to love.



Sex: Female
Age: 5-8 Years
Weight: 65-100 Pounds
Availability: MEETING A FAMILY
Good with Dogs? yes
Good with Cats? no
Good with Kids? unknown