My name is Martha (#3959), and I’m a gorgeous chocolate Labrador retriever. If you want a calm, easy-going companion, you are my kind of people. I’m a healthy 10-year old who enjoys taking walks and hanging out or napping near my foster mom and dad. I’m not a Velcro dog, because I’m pretty relaxed and am okay to stay put when my foster parents get up to do something.

I love to go for sniffy walks where I can explore with my nose. I walk with a loose leash and neighborhood noises don’t bother me. I’m not really interested in other dogs, and usually I walk calmly past them, but sometimes I am reactive. My new owner will want to work with me on this, so I am consistent with remaining calm.

Around the house, I have very nice house manners. I never have accidents and will let you know when I need to go outside. I don’t get on the furniture, counter surf, chew on anything and only shed lightly which is a big plus for a Lab. I don’t bark when the doorbell rings or at anything really, so I’m very quiet.

My dream family would be at home more than they are away. I’d love to have a parent(s) who works from home, and I will quietly snooze nearby. If I think you’re working too long (2-3 hours), I’ll remind you with a gentle nudge that it’s time to take a break to rub my belly. I’d also like a parent(s) who understands that I am very smart and want to please you, so I will learn your cues very quickly. Keep in mind though that I am a Lab and can sometimes be a little stubborn. I wouldn’t mind having another dog living with me. I’m not usually interested in playing and will let other dogs know with a bark.

When my foster parents pet my head and tell me that I’m a good girl, just the tip of my tail wags. It’s pretty cute! The only behavior that I’m learning to correct is that I love to give kisses too much. When I first meet someone, I want to shower them with licks, which most humans don’t like. My foster parents say that I’m wonderful around children and will sleep nearby while they play.

Overall, I’m a fantastic Lab that is smart, loving and ready to join my new family!


Sex: Female
Age: 8+ Years
Weight: 65-100 Pounds
Availability: MEETING A FAMILY
Good with Dogs? unknown
Good with Cats? no
Good with Kids? yes