My name is Mac (#3909) and I am a male, 3-4 year old yellow Labrador mix. I arrived in the U.S. in May 2023. I am house and crate trained. Golden Bond Rescue and my foster humans are learning everything about me from scratch. My foster humans say that I am such a good boy. I am a really good house dog who will hang out in my crate or dog bed until my humans are ready to relieve me of my puppy energy. I don’t bark at the neighbors or passersby. I am perfectly content watching the neighbors on their walks with their own doggoes.

Although I prefer to have my humans stay at home with me during the day, I understand if you need to leave to go to work so you can pay for my dog food and dog toys. I do not show any signs of separation anxiety and I have learned to use a dog door so my humans don’t have to worry about me. I may get bored if I am alone too long and seek out my human’s personal items to keep me company, but I haven’t chewed or destroyed anything.

My foster humans say that I would do best in an active home. I have a lot of puppy energy, so I need daily activity. I would be a great training partner for someone who likes to run, hike, bike, or skateboard. I am also learning that I love dog toys and can play with them all day. Of course, I like balls too, I’m just not the best at bringing them back to you. I am happy to report that I don’t show any resource protective behaviors with food or toys towards my humans, but we aren’t sure if I am resource protective with other dogs since my foster humans do not have any other animals in the home. I am friendly with other dogs that I’ve played with, but my over excitement may be too much for small dogs. I see cats on my walks and I just say “hi” as I walk past them. My foster humans say that I do have a prey drive because when I see a squirrel, I like to go full throttle. Please keep me on a no-pull harness and short leash on my walks so I don’t accidentally get away from you when I see a squirrel. When playing off leash with other dogs, I am not the best with recall. I get so excited that I forget that I should be listening to my humans. This is an area of training that I would really benefit from.

Although I am loyal and happy to be at home, an open door or gate is an excellent invitation to explore the neighborhood. I don’t understand that the street can be an unsafe place for dogs, so I would appreciate some training with this as well. So far my foster humans have taught me the basics of “sit”, “stay”, and “down”. I am very food motivated and will do my best to learn anything you want to teach me.

I would love to have a fenced in backyard to play in and I am a good supervisor while you are doing yardwork or digging in the garden. I may even partake in a little digging myself, but if you prefer me not to, just give me a firm “no” and I will get the message.

Saying “hi” to people is so much fun. I will take any opportunity to flop on my back so humans can give me tummy rubs. I like to show my appreciation by giving licks and muchas smooches. I also like to zoom at high speeds, and am learning that humans don’t like to be run into. I get so excited sometimes that I forget, and I don’t want to accidentally hurt anyone. Because of this, a home with small children or elderly people might not be a good fit. I respond the best to humans with calm energy and consistent boundaries. A good way to regulate my excitement is to ask me to sit so I can take a break.


Sex: Male
Age: 2-5 Years
Weight: 65-100 Pounds
Availability: Now
Good with Dogs? yes
Good with Cats? unknown
Good with Kids? yes