Ari #3280

Hi there! My name is Ari (#3280) and I arrived from China on November 26th. I have been living with my two foster golden brothers and I get along with them great. I love to wrestle, play tug-of-war, and fetch balls with my friends! My foster parents think that I would be great as a solo dog or with another mellow sibling, as I will require some focused training. With all the changes that I have been through in a short time (traveling from China, being placed in an unfamiliar environment), I do have some anxiety, so will need the opportunity to get my energy out and build trust that I will not be abandoned. The good thing is that I’m slowly rebuilding trust with humans and trying to learn basic commands.

At times I do get scared and am unsure of what is happening and have a loud bark, especially if I think you are leaving, but with a little reassurance and training I know I will exceed your expectations. I am working on calming down and enjoying the moment! My favorite thing to do is to cuddle up with a human and get a lot of pets. My least favorite thing is going on walks as I like to stop randomly mid-walk when I remember i’m getting exercise and have a silent protest. I really am a sweet boy who deserves a good home with good (& patient!) people and lots of toys for me to play with.

My foster parents want to let you know that these are some things I need help learning in my new home;

  • I need to slow down when I eat so my tummy doesn’t get upset and so I don’t choke. My foster parents bought me a slow-feed bowl and although it’s not my favorite it’s helping me to slow down.
  • I know when something is not a toy, but sometimes, I can’t help myself. For example, I have to constantly remind myself that the ornaments on the Christmas tree are not balls for me to play with!
  • I like to see what’s on the counter and just know there is something up there for me! I am tall enough to reach, so I can grab things myself. I don’t understand why I can’t get them on my own!
  • In China I was outside all day, so sometimes have accidents but I am working on getting better.
  • Finally, I do bark at times. I just have a lot to say and not enough time to say it! With the right training I just know I can get better!

I can’t wait to get settled into my forever home, snuggle in and start my new life!

Ari

Ari was adopted on January 17, 2020

Sex: Male
Age: 3 years
Weight: 53 pounds
Attributes: Dogs: Yes; Cats: Unknown; Kids: Unknown
Availability: ADOPTED