My name is Candace (#3886).  I’ve been in the US for about 6.5 months. For the first 5 months, I stayed with another family who changed my name to Scarlett, and I think I’m a little confused. It’ll be important for my new family to work with me on my new name.

I love being in my foster home. I currently live with a single woman who has a lot of friends and visitors coming and going. I am very sweet, friendly, especially to guests and even with small children, and most of the time, I am quite mellow.   I love cuddling and getting my belly rubbed.  I get excited about mealtime in the morning and evening, and I definitely get worked up into a happy dance when I know it’s about time to go out on a walk. It’s important for me to use a harness. Even though I’m a relatively small Golden, I get really excited on my walks.  I can pull when I see a squirrel, cat or bunny but I settle back down quickly.  Overall, I am a lovely walker and enjoy a good sniff. Sometimes, I pull when I pick up the scent of the neighborhood bunnies, but not too bad.

My foster mom walks me on other side of the street when she sees another dog coming because I tend to get aggressive around other dogs, even if they’re pretty cool neighbor dogs.

I like playing with squeaker toys at home and even like to tear them up.  At my previous foster home, I did not like to share my toys with other dogs. Even though I can really tear up toys, I am not otherwise destructive. Both of my foster moms quickly put away the crate because they feel safe leaving me freely in the house.

Although I am fine with a couple stairs, I am unable to do a full flight and would do best in a one-level living situation. I have some arthritis in my shoulders that should be managed with weight control and supplements.  I am fully potty-trained.

I would love to live with someone who is home most of the time or who can take me with them when they leave.  I need help in and out of the car, but I am super excited to go and am a great passenger.  What I would love the most is to be the center of someone’s world!


Sex: Female
Age: 9.5 years
Weight: 45-65 Pounds
Availability: Now
Good with Dogs? no
Good with Cats? no
Good with Kids? yes