I am a five to six-year-old male golden retriever from S. Korea and I am looking for a family of my own! My name is Teddy (#3984), probably because I look like an adorable teddy bear. My left ear had surgery on it because I had hematomas and it’s all healed up now, but it is curled up a bit and doesn’t look like my right ear. It doesn’t bother me at all and my foster family thinks it gives me character. My fur is slowly growing back in after I was shaved in S. Korea because my fur was so matted.

I like other dogs but also like to do my own thing, so it doesn’t bother me if another dog doesn’t want to play. My foster family has a cat who I loved from the moment I saw her. The cat didn’t have the same reaction and it took us a few days to get to know each other, but now we are successful cohabitants and she likes me a little bit at least.

I love food! I love any food, whether you give it to me or I find it on the counter. My foster family is working with me to teach me that counters are not for dogs, but it’s something my next family will need to keep an eye on. Even though I love food, I’m not possessive about my own dinner or treats. I have shown signs of possessiveness when I get an item I’m not supposed to have, like a throw pillow. I don’t like to give those up and will growl if you get close. Usually if you offer me a toy or a treat or distract me, I will give up on whatever I have. Because of this, I should be supervised around small children who don’t understand my warning signals.

I don’t mind being in a crate sometimes at night or if I’m left alone, but I have also been out of my crate in my foster parents’ bedroom at night and that has been fine too. Couches are my favorite, but I am not allowed on the human bed. I have tried…but I know I’m not allowed there.

Adoption fee: $900 plus $35 microchip fee


Sex: Male
Age: 2-5 Years
Weight: 45-65 Pounds
Availability: Now
Good with Dogs? yes
Good with Cats? yes
Good with Kids? unknown