Hello! I’m Manny (#3980). I arrived from South Korea on August 28th, 2023. I’m a very sweet 7-year old, 38-pound male golden retriever/terrier mix who is a perfect gentleman in my foster home.  I haven’t barked once, and I’m not sure that I will ever feel the need. I do sneeze and bounce when I am excited and, of course, food and walks are very exciting.

I do love my walks and I walk so nicely until I see a cat or squirrel and then I pull. Dogs are fun to meet, especially if they aren’t pushy or too loud. I have lived with multiple dogs and I am very happy, gentle and maybe even a bit more confident with them around me.

I have adjusted well in the short time that I’ve been in the US. I recently spent four days at a temporary foster home and handled the transitions like a rock star. My life before I was rescued in April 2022 in South Korea was rough – I was neglected for seven months in a garbage-filled house after my elderly human went into a nursing home. My teeth were in bad shape and I lost a lot of them, so I will need a soft food diet. I can be timid with new people, but I will warm up easily if I’m given the time to approach them on my own. Also, I do not like loud noises (especially trucks and buses) and I’m not a water dog but I will tolerate baths.

I would love a quiet, patient family who stayed home most of the day. If I had a dog buddy, it would probably be easier to be left in the house when my people went out. When my foster parents take me with them in the car, I am very calm and happy.

I could use continued basic commands training. I am not crate trained, but it might be possible. I happily go in it to eat and work on food toys, but I don’t like to be confined. My foster parents thank me for being perfectly house trained because I need the run of the house. 

 So, if you would like a loyal companion with a heart of pure gold and love who only wants love and some help gaining confidence, I am your Manny!


Sex: Male
Age: 5-8 Years
Weight: 20-45 Pounds
Availability: MEETING A FAMILY
Good with Dogs? yes
Good with Cats? no
Good with Kids? unknown