People call me Louie (GBR #3851).  I am a male, approximately 2-year old, predominantly black Labrador Retriever with something else mixed in (golden/flat coat retriever or some people have even said I look like a tiny Newfoundland). This gives me a bit longer, softer coat. I was rescued from South Korea so little is known about my background. I am small-ish and svelte, perfect at 52 pounds, and in good health.  I get along with other dogs, but can be excitable and curious when I see them and want to play. I have a high prey drive and have shown that I should not be placed with a cat, but a small dog would probably be okay. I have not yet interacted with kids, but would likely be very good.

Most of all, I am super sweet! I love petting, attention and, of course, belly rubs. I’ll also join you for walks, hikes, doggie play dates, car rides, brushing and any new adventures to add to my limited experiences. I’ll even tolerate ear cleaning.

I have been learning some basic commands with my fosters and am a good student due to my food motivation. I can also follow along with other dogs acting as role models. I’m housebroken, but need to learn to let you know when I’d like to go out. Without training I walk surprisingly well on a leash. My new guardians will need to work on my counter surfing though, along with the basic commands. I also need to learn some leash etiquette and self-control when encountering other dogs.

I am quite adaptable to my circumstances. The vet commented that I was especially well adjusted for an international dog who has only been here a few weeks. In one foster home, I played rough and rowdy with the resident young Labrador, but was mellow and respectful in the home with the older golden. I don’t seem to have a particularly high energy level, and am not destructive in any way when left alone. So far my favorite activities have been getting out and seeing the world. Squirrel!

I would do well with any active and outgoing family with other dogs and/or kids to play with and humans to give me the attention and petting I feel like I deserve. If I can’t be sleeping in your bed (preferred), I’ll set out in the middle of the night for a slipper to sleep with instead. I’ll also amuse you with my 360 degree owl-like swivel head.

So to recap: super sweet, easily trained, like to play and see the world, love belly rubs, not destructive, housebroken, no cats. Trust me, I know I’m a special catch, and am really looking forward to settling down in my permanent home.


Sex: Male
Age: 2-5 Years
Weight: 45-65 Pounds
Availability: MEETING A FAMILY
Good with Dogs? yes
Good with Cats? no
Good with Kids? unknown