My name is Yates (#3251) and I came from China in October. I was abandoned by my owner and have been dealing with a lot of changes lately so building that trust again takes time. I’m trying my very best to learn and I have to say, I think I’m getting the hang of things in this new country and I’m ready now to find my forever home.

I have to admit, I’m a big strong boy (rather good looking, don’t you think?) and sometimes it’s hard to contain my excitement. I’m very curious, want to check everything out, and I find it fun to carry things around (I’m pretty good at trading for a treat!). I love chasing tennis balls and I’ve even learned to give them back so you’ll throw them again! I like to carry sticks and rocks around and even find them fun to chew. I can keep myself busy outside in the yard, but I like to have you out there with me, too. Having a big yard to hang out in and chase tennis balls would be ideal for me.

I also like to go for walks, the more the better now that I’m in better shape (although I guess I could still stand to lose a few pounds). With the right kind of harness, I’ll walk along with you quite nicely. I am energetic and did I say I like to be outside? So someone who likes to walk, hike, throw balls, work out in the yard, etc. would be perfect for me.

I can settle nicely in the house, do very well in my crate, sleep thru the night and am very well house trained. Don’t I sound like the perfect dog? I guess I still need to work on some manners though – but maybe you can help me with that?

I get along okay with other dogs but would be best in a home as an only dog. I also like to chase cats who run so a home without cats would be best. I’m very people friendly but because of my size, strength and occasional exuberance, I’d be best in an adult-only home.

I’m a smart boy and ready to keep learning. I spent a bit of time with a trainer and she said I need consistency and a routine structured environment (whatever that is!). I love treats and she says it’s good for me to work for them although sometimes I do get distracted. Continued training, lots of engagement with my new person and I’ll be the best boy ever! I just want someone to bond with and spend time with so that I can give back my love and devotion! Are you my person??

Yates was adopted on March 16, 2020



Sex: Male
Age: 2-5 Years
Weight: 65-100 Pounds
Availability: Now
Good with Dogs? No
Good with Cats? No
Good with Kids? No