Winnie #3072

Hi there.  I am Winnie (#3072).  I like to think of myself as a loving, sweet, and low-maintenance dog.  I am happy with a short walk or two each day, roaming around in the yard, and spending time with my people.  I love cuddling and napping.

I had the same owner for my whole life until she got sick and could no longer care for me.  I am now in a foster home where I live with a retiree, another nice dog, and two cats.   I enjoy – but do not need – another dog in my home and I’m even good with puppies.  I am accepting of cats and even sleep with them at night.

I am well-behaved and well-socialized.  I am a nice walker.  I love my short walks so much that I occasionally bring my leash or a walking shoe to my foster mom to let her know that it’s time!  I know SIT and STAY.  I do need work on COME if you plan to have me off-leash.   I am completely house-broken.   I have not been in a crate in my foster home and I nap quietly when left alone.  I am great in a car where I sit still and look out the window at the world going by.   I will occasionally bark – usually to say hello or let my foster mom know someone is at the door – but I quiet down quickly.  I am about as low maintenance as they come and require very little work.

I do have some arthritis in my hips.  I take an anti-inflammatory pill for that in my food each morning – and that helps me a lot with my mobility.   Going up stairs is difficult for me – although I can do it.  I need help getting into a tall SUV or high bed.

The ideal new home for me would be one where the person(s) works from home or is retired.  If the person(s) is not home during the day, I would like to have a dog friend to pass the day with.  I have been through a lot of loss and change and I’d most enjoy a home where I can relax, spend time with, and be loved by my people.  I am sweet, easy, and a well-behaved dog.  I very much want to settle in to a permanent, loving home.

Winnie was adopted on October 5, 2018

Sex: Female
Age: 11 years
Weight: 70 pounds
Attributes: Dogs: Yes; Cats: Yes; Kids: Unknown
Availability: ADOPTED