Victor #3143

Hi, I’m Victor (#3143).  I came to the USA from China in January 2019. As you can see, I am oh so fluffy.  To look this good, I need regular brushing which is not a problem for me.  I love it!  I lay on one side then you can roll me over to do the other side.

I am strong and will pull when on a leash.  I definitely need training and someone with patience.  I am also quite energetic, especially first thing in the morning.  This is when I love to wrestle with my foster mom’s shoes.  She tells me I would really like these things called “toys and kongs”.  But we can’t have them because my foster brother is so possessive.  I do need an active family with a backyard.  Not only do I love to “zoom” in circles, but I just love “hanging out” in the great outdoors.  

Did I tell you, everyone is my buddy?  Dogs, cats, kids, adults – they all love me and I love them!  In fact, I play hide-and-seek with the resident cat.  She hides behind the couch and I try to find her.  She is a very “dog savvy” cat, though, and will put me in my place when she’s had enough of me.  And I do like to wrestle with my foster brother.  We usually get kicked outside for “rough housing”.  I sleep on my own bed (or just the floor) in my foster mom’s room…I am good for the entire night.  I love to go for car rides!  But my favorite thing is to cuddle on the couch next to my human.

Now, some notes from my foster mom:  Victor has had surgery on his elbow.  He will need to continue with Rimadyl indefinitely.

Victor has some separation anxiety.  He barks when first left alone but quits after a few minutes.  This is what I call his “high anxiety” bark.  A stay-at-home or work-from-home parent (and/or another dog) would be best. He does have another bark… his “watch dog” bark.  He is a great watch dog and uses that bark appropriately.

Victor is not crate-trained and will need additional training (i.e., leash and behavioral).  He is known to counter-surf and chew inappropriate things (i.e., sticks, leaves, rocks, outdoor plants). We are still working on some basic commands: stay, come, down. He is also very enthusiastic when greeting everyone.  We are working on how to greet without jumping and nibbling. He has learned to sit and wait while his dish is being prepared.  He sits when coming in from outdoors, so we can wipe his feet.

Victor has been around our grandchildren (6 yrs and 8 yrs).  He does well with them, but may “bowl” them over.  Therefore, older children (if any children) would be best.

With training and patience, Victor will make a great companion.  He is smart and learns quickly.  He’s very much a creature of habit; therefore, a routine is important for his success. He needs an active family, the companionship of a stay-at-home or work-at-home parent, or another dog.  If there are children, 10 years of age or older.

Victor’s pictures do not do him justice.  He is very cute, with a twinkle in his eye, and a “fun/goofy” personality.  He is such a happy, loving dog and is ready to find his forever family.

Victor was adopted on August 11, 2019

Sex: Male
Age: 2 years
Weight: 50 pounds
Attributes: Dogs: Yes; Cats: Yes; Kids: 10+
Availability: ADOPTED