My name is Sita (#3661).  My foster describes me as “sweet, pretty, and gentle.”  I am a 2-1/2-year old local Golden Retriever, weighing 55 pounds. I am looking for a calm, loving person or family I can give my big heart to. My favorite thing is being next to my human; I love to cuddle up on the sofa and chill. I like other dogs and have been living peacefully with a big sister Golden and four cats. My foster has seen no aggression toward any person or animal (well, maybe squirrels) and I don’t resource guard. I am housebroken, don’t counter-surf, and I am very quiet. I am quick and agile, and although I don’t need a lot of exercise, I do love to run. I enjoy walks and do really well on a leash.

My previous life was as a backyard breeder, and because I was never exposed to other people or the world, I was pretty terrified when I came to Golden Bond.  My foster has been carefully broadening my experiences and I am becoming such a happy, silly girl!  My tail wags almost all the time, even in my sleep!  I still don’t want to be touched by strangers (who does?!) and will hide behind my foster mom, but I don’t panic and will take treats from them when they’re quiet and gentle. I wasn’t a fan of really long car rides but am starting to relax and enjoy looking out the window when I run errands with my foster.

A quiet home will be best for me. I am sensitive and have a little bit of separation anxiety (inappropriate chewing when left alone in the house) and am responding well to crate-training. I learn commands really fast and continued positive reinforcement training will help build my confidence and my bond with my new family. Having a calm, confident dog as a role model would help, but my foster thinks I would be okay as an only dog. All I need to blossom into the best dog ever is a lot of love and a little patience.



Sex: Female
Age: 2-5 Years
Weight: 45-65 Pounds
Availability: Now
Good with Dogs? yes
Good with Cats? yes
Good with Kids? unknown