Ricky #3109

I am Ricky (#3109].  I arrived in the US from China in November.  I am a sweet, friendly boy and definitely a “Velcro” dog.   I love to be near my person and to be part of their daily life.  My tail is in constant motion.

I am physically a strong dog.  I am relatively short in stature for a male Golden but am strongly built.  My large paws (think snow leopard) contribute both to my cuteness and my strength as a puller when I see something I want while walking on a leash.   I haven’t had much experience on a leash and am getting better with training.

I am also new to living in a household setting so I have had a lot to learn.  I am working on housetraining and have made great progress in a few weeks but will need reinforcement in my  new home. I am an expert “counter surfer” — and not just in the kitchen. I respond well to “no“ but require watching.  I can be intense around food. I am a little hard-headed but am a quick and eager learner.  Currently, I shouldn’t have access to stuffed toys or soft objects like socks.   When I get them in my mouth, I feel like I may want to swallow them.  I am a young boy who hasn’t had a lot of training and so am a work in progress in learning self-control.

I love balls and rubber toys. I almost always have one in my mouth. I carry a little soccer ball everywhere.

I get along with the two resident female dogs in my foster home.  However, my play style could be too intense for some dogs. I like other dogs but would be happy as the sole dog as well.

I am very sweet and love to snuggle.  I am loving, attentive and want to please.  Since I am still young, I will need a home where I get regular activity and exercise to help me work off energy.   I would make a good walking, jogging or hiking partner.  I will do best with someone who has experience training a dog to help me reach my full potential.

Ricky was adopted on January 17, 2019

Sex: Male
Age: 3 years
Weight: 60 pounds
Attributes: Dogs: Yes; Cats: Unknown; Kids: Unknown
Availability: ADOPTED