I’m Poppy (#3542) and would like to get to meet you. I love meeting people of all ages and getting lots of love and affection. My foster mom thinks I used to live in a home because my inside manners are very good – I don’t counter surf, I lie down quietly at mom’s feet (and sure like it when she rubs me with her feet!), and sleep on the floor right beside her bed at night. I sit quietly to get my harness on and off, I wait nicely for my food (I do like my meals but am not terribly treat motivated otherwise), and I can be left in the house on my own for an hour or two (I haven’t tried to chew up anything at all in the house or get into things I’m not supposed to). And I haven’t had a single accident in the house!

Okay, so I’m not perfect – I confess, I would really, really like to chase the cat that lives in my mom’s house. For some reason she’s been very careful about keeping us separated once she realized how extremely interested I was in the cat. Best for me not to be in a home with cats at all.

I love, love, love to be out in mom’s big backyard. First thing I do is check for any squirrels or crows that might be lingering around – they don’t stay for long when I’m on Poppy Patrol! I love to run back and forth, making sure no critters have tried to share my yard. I also enjoy rolling in the grass – ahhhh!

I also LOVE to go for walks. Mom takes me multiple times a day because she says it’s good for both of us. When I see any of those nasty little squirrels, mom has to hold on tight because I really want to get at them. With my 60 pounds of doggie weight, I can pull pretty hard so she keeps me close. When there are no critters around, I’m the best walker around and just enjoy a leisurely pace (but not sedate, mind you – we do cover ground). I’ve walked with doggy friends and am very calm once I’ve had a chance to greet them. I think I would enjoy having a doggy playmate, but I’m fine on my own also – just love to stick close to my person!

I’m a fairly young girl, probably 2 or 3 years old and quite healthy. My coat is growing back, I don’t mind baths and love to be brushed. I’m told I have a very sweet face, and I have to admit, I’m generally just a very sweet girl who is looking for a home and people to call my own.

Poppy was adopted August 1, 2021

Sex: Female
Age: 2-5 Years
Weight: 45-65 Pounds
Availability: Now
Good with Dogs? yes
Good with Cats? no
Good with Kids? yes