My name is Pooka (#3727).  I arrived in the U.S. from S. Korea in July.  I’m not really into writing about myself so I am going to let my foster mom share her thoughts on me.  I hope you don’t mind.

From my foster mother: Pooka is a Labrador Retriever-mix about 2-years old, weighing in at about 50 pounds.   He is not the most photogenic dog at all, but everyone who has met him in person thinks he is as cute as a button with very expressive eyes.  Although his photos can make him look as if he is grumpy, he is anything but.  He is a one very happy-go-lucky pup, with his tail wagging all the time.  And what he lacks in the photo department he makes up on every single other level.

This guy is the mellowest, sweetest, most well-behaved dog I have ever fostered (and I’ve fostered more than 30) and he is a dog who will worm himself into your heart if just given a chance.   On a scale of 1-10, he is a solid 10.

This little guy is good on the leash, although he gets a little inquisitive at times. He rides very nicely in the car, doesn’t jump up on people, does not counter crawl and has perfect manners. He sits nicely for his food and has a very soft mouth when taking treats from your hand.  And he NEVER begs at the table or while you’re fixing dinner, but is always watching you!  He knows sit, stay, lay down and come; doesn’t dig, bolt for the door or bark except when other dogs do.  Doesn’t even bark when the doorbell rings!

He loves balls (really loves balls) and stuffed toys and really loves laying in the sun.   He is great with kids and other dogs. Recently I had my grandkids (9 & 12) and their dog here to visit and he just loved all the attention.  Also, he lives with his foster brother, a GBR Golden and they are buddies.

Not sure how he would do around cats, as he does chase squirrels in the backyard.

He is very smart and learns things quickly and this little guy would be a perfect companion for anyone looking for a very mellow dog, whether you’re older or younger.  He would be a perfect dog for a first time dog owner.  He’s comfy laying right next to you while you read or are on the computer, but he also loves to cuddle and get pets.  He loves walks, chasing the ball and I’m sure given other adventures to enjoy, he would love it!

This little guy is not a boy to overlook.  Meet him and let him pull at your heartstrings.  You won’t be disappointed.




Sex: Male
Age: 2-5 Years
Weight: 45-65 Pounds
Availability: MEETING A FAMILY
Good with Dogs? yes
Good with Cats? unknown
Good with Kids? yes