Perla2666Kobie

Perla is a gem, so I renamed her Pearl which suits her very well.  She is incredibly happy.  I love that when she wags her tail it wags her whole body!  She adores her older brothers, Kobie, a Golden, and Pete, a Newfy/Golden mix, and does not care they each weigh nearly twice as much as she does. They adore her too.

Her big lesson (okay, my lesson) has been to tame her prey drive.  After a few months I can say we have made progress.  She now will look back at me before lunging forward, most of the time. We still have a long way to go.  She seems to think for a moment she can fly when she sees a bird.

Perla2666Pearl likes to go everywhere I do, and usually does.  She always gets a lot of attention not just because she is cute, but because she is SWEET!  She loves to interact with every person and dog she meets.

Pearl has been a wonderful addition to our family.  Being barely 2 years old, she brings a silly puppy energy to the pack that makes everyone younger and more playful.

 

 

 

Perla was adopted on April 14, 2016.


Perla’s Available Story:

Perla 2666Hola! My name is Perla (#2666). I recently came to the U.S. from Mexico where I had a tough start, including multiple homes and a litter of pups.  I was in foster care in Mexico for several months before coming to my GBR foster home where I immediately settled in and quickly learned the house rules.

I am two-years old, a Golden/Lab mix and I weigh 50 pounds. I am very sweet and smart (or at least that’s what I’ve been told).  I enjoy being active and I absolutely love to play.  When I’m not active and playing, I like to be right by my person’s side.

Despite all that I’ve been through, I have maintained a positive attitude and have not let my past keep me from enjoying life today.  I love to play chase, tug-a-war and keep-away with other dogs. Swimming and retrieving are natural to me. I have not been with small children, but would likely do best with supervision because I play hard at times.

Perla 2666aIdeally, I would like another dog to play with in my forever home.  I need a lot of exercise and I do best if I’m not left alone for extended periods.  I am good on a leash, unless I see a cat, squirrel or bird. My foster family thinks I would do best in a home without cats.  (It seems like I should mention that I’d do best in a home without squirrels or birds either, but I’ve been told most people don’t keep them.  It seems like they should, though, because they’re really, really fun to chase.  Oh well.)

If you will let me be part of your family, I will always stay nearby . . . unless I’m playing, in which case I hope you’ll wait for me because I’ll be looking forward to coming back to your side.

Sex: Female
Age: 2 years old
Weight: 50 pounds
Attributes: Dogs: Yes; Cats: No; Kids: 10+
Availability: Adopted