My name is Otto (#3533) and I am all puppy, or better yet, a 2-year old child.  My foster family has two GBR – Golden Retrievers, both jealous of other dogs, but I very quickly adapted to the environment and to my foster siblings.  The three of us are inseparable now.  I have also made quick friends with other dogs in the neighborhood.  (What can I say?  I am a very playful and loving puppy.) My foster family has a 19-year old cat that’s absolutely no problem, other than the occasional game of chase, but with a quick swat on my nose by the cat, I know to stop the game.

I am VERY playful (as 2-year olds are!) and a very loving puppy.  Sometimes puppies play bite and, if you get me wound up, I can play a bit aggressively.  I am fine around people and will be good with children.

My foster family says I have a fantastic personality.  I am a loving puppy at times, playful at times, enjoy sitting or lying on or right next to people.  I love putting my head on a person’s chest and looking in their eyes, thinking how lucky I am.

Day one, my fosters gave me a bath, removed all knots from my coat and behind my ears and took me to the vet for a check-up and shots.  The vet said what I already knew:  I am in excellent shape and a very beautiful dog. No medical issues.  I am dark red in color, have a beautiful golden head and slim body and a great personally.  My foster family says I am one of the most beautiful animals they’ve had in their home – and they’ve had five golden retrievers, two Labs and other dogs over 40 years!  They said that they would love to keep me if they could.

I love walks and rides; I’m very calm in the car.  My overall activity level is high though.  I need daily walks and a big backyard to play in.  If you own a small apartment or condominium or have a small backyard, are not into walking your dog, or are gone for extended periods of the day, I am NOT a good fit for you or your family.  I need plenty of human companionship, love and room to grow, and plenty of dog toys to play with.  I will sit when told to, potty outside (my foster family says, “you’re welcome“) and use the doggie door leading to the garage. I am a quick study. Whether I am in the chair with my foster dad is in his office, with my foster mom on the couch or in the Lazy-Boy recliner, I give my love 24-hours a day.  You need to be able to do the same for me, please.

Otto was adopted on August 13, 2021


Sex: Male
Age: 2-5 Years
Weight: 20-45 Pounds
Availability: Now
Good with Dogs? yes
Good with Cats? yes
Good with Kids? yes