Moses #2945

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

While initially I had planned on getting a slightly older dog, I decided I would take the plunge to go and meet Charlie (Moses). I remember walking up to the house where we were meeting him being nervous about if he’d be the right fit but as I neared the door he peaked his little face into the doorway and he captured my heart instantly.

I have had Charlie for a little over two months now and he is the first dog I have owned on my own and I couldn’t imagine a better fit. He is one of the sweetest dogs I have ever encountered and never fails to greet me with his tail wagging so hard that it wiggles his whole body. It’s quite adorable!

Every challenge we’ve thrown at him, whether that be meeting new people, going new places, playing with children, etc. he has handled with ease. He did have a little hiccup when meeting new dogs where he didn’t realize you have to introduce yourself before you can play with them but he has now learned that if you introduce yourself you get to play sooner and they will actually want to play with you. It’s not his fault he just wants everyone to be his friend but luckily he and my parent’s dog have become the best of friends and occasionally he gets to go to doggy daycare where he gets to make SO many new friends and he loves that as well.

All and all, I really couldn’t imagine a better fit for my life when it comes to a dog and appreciate everyone who played a part in getting him to me. After adopting him and finding out he was rescued on day 6 of 7 from a kill shelter in South Korea, my heart broke a little thinking about how close he was to almost not making it into my life because now I couldn’t imagine him not in it.

I am eternally grateful for the work GBR has done and will continue to do for so many dogs and families. Not to mention, the guidance provided throughout the entire experience was amazing and made me feel that much more comfortable every step of the way especially since I got to know so much about Charlie before even meeting him. I highly recommend and will be recommending adopting through GBR to anyone I know looking to adopt in the future.


Hi ya’ll!  My name is Moses (#2945).  I immigrated from South Korea to the United States on February 5.  I was only six months old at the time and completely naive about American culture.  Now that I am seven months old and have spent almost 15% of my life in the USA, I am feeling pretty good about my move.  Everyone I have met here has been exceptionally nice and welcoming.

I’ve been told I am not a Golden Retriver, but rather a Yellow Labrador Retriver.  I think that’s okay because people seem to enjoy placing their paws all over me.  They pat my head, rub my back, smile and tell me I’m adorable.  My English skills weren’t too good when I arrived last month, but they’ve improved enough that I know being called “adorable” is a good thing.

I love other dogs, cats and humans.  I also love to play hard and to rest hard.  Now that I think about it, I love almost everything except itchy skin.  I had itchy skin when I arrived from South Korea and I didn’t like that at all.

I am ready to find a home and family where I can begin to put down some roots.  Is your family ready to help me out?  I have so much to learn.  I also have so much to give.

Moses was adopted on March 24, 2018

Sex: Male
Age: 7 months
Weight: About 40 pounds
Attributes: Dogs: Yes; Cats: Yes; Kids: 10+
Availability: ADOPTED