My name is Max (#3424). I’m almost 3 years old and a happy boy. I am housetrained and will usually walk nicely on a leash. I still need some training when meeting people because I LOVE everyone and want to jump up on them to let them know. My foster mom makes me walk beside
her and tries to keep me from jumping on people. It’s pretty hard to do, but I’m trying.

I love dog toys, tennis balls, stuffies, and tug-tug toys. When I need to calm myself down I will take one of my favorite stuffies and just suck on it. I have pretty good manners, but will need consistent
practice and training. I know sit and down, but I get so excited that I just get all wiggly and can’t hold them very long. As I mentioned, I also want to jump up on people just to be closer to them, so I’m learning the word “off”. I would do best in a home with older kids as I am pretty excitable. And I would probably chase a cat. Squirrels are fun to chase too. I LOVE to ride in the car and love to go for walks every day.

I am a young, quick learning, healthy doggie, looking for my forever family.

Note:  Max has a history of severe mitral valve dysplasia.  His long term prognosis is hard to predict, but Max is managing his heart condition well.  He currently takes Atenolol 25 mg, 1 and 1/2 tablets (37.5 mg) orally twice daily.  Optional supplement recommended by the cardiologist is Taurine 1000 mg twice daily.  His activity should be moderate according to his tolerance, avoiding extreme sports, 10 mile hikes, etc.  Max is allowed to be “a dog” with normal every day walks, playing with other dogs, and fetching up to 30 min or less okay.  His activity level will need to be monitored.

At this time Max’s cardiologist has recommended a repeat echocardiogram and blood work in June.  He will also need yearly follow up appointments with a cardiologist, echocardiograms & blood work, or sooner if cardiac status changes.

Max was adopted on February 11, 2021

Sex: Male
Age: 2-5 Years
Weight: 65-100 Pounds
Availability: Now
Good with Dogs? yes
Good with Cats? no
Good with Kids? yes