Max #3048

My name is Max (#3048).  I am a healthy 9-year old Lab and Beagle mix.  My favorite things to do are to go for walks and hikes and chase cats.   I’m super easy to have around. Love just hanging out with you. I’m a little quirky about other dogs though. Guess I didn’t get socialized as a pup. I’m fine if I go into the home of another dog….I’ve even been playing with the foster’s resident dog!… But I’m just not too keen about other dogs coming into myhome. I need slow intros. I don’t like to meet other dogs on walks either but can be redirected with treats. I’m not aggressive, just snarky and vocal. I am an absolute sweetheart with people.  I am very mellow when I am at home and love to follow my foster family around the house or go outside to garden. (I have quite the green paw.)

My foster family calls me a delightful little dog. They say I have come out of my shell a bit.”  (I’m pretty certain that I am a dog, not a turtle, so Im not sure why they would say that about me.  I love people but sometimes they say and do weird things.  Oh well.)

I  am a very good learner and I enjoy learning new things. The stuff I have been learning includes:

*   Waiting at the door before going out. I absolutely know what this is all about, but as with all things, I like to test the limits.

*   Sitting and waiting before eating. This is still a bit of a challenge for me but if my butt comes off the floor when my food is put down, the food goes back up. After a couple of tries, I give up and wait.  Just testing again.

*   Staying out of the kitchen when someone is cooking. Also a bit of a challenge still. After all, the kitchen is where the food is. But a treat for staying on my side of the invisible line usually helps my memory.

I have had no accidents in the house. I will sleep in my crate and kennels on command without problems. All in all, I am pretty much a model citizen and I hope you will feel fortunate if you adopt me.  Want to see if Im right?

One last thing Id like to let you know before I close:  I love riding in the car!

Max is being fostered in Eugene, OR

Adoption Fee: $200 plus $35 microchip fee

Sex: Male
Age: 9 years
Weight: Approximately 45 pounds
Attributes: Dogs: Yes; Cats: No; Kids: 10+
Availability: Now