Maple #2787

Maple was adopted on May 6, 2017

My name is Maple (#2787).  I am a “beautiful” (my foster mom’s word, not mine) 2-3 year-old Golden-colored dog with a Border Collie-type build and temperament. I am a very good girl in the house, but I can be a bit anxious on walks; I’m still getting used to the environment in Portland. It seems very strange after the climate of my home country of Taiwan! I will do best with someone who is patient and understands my body language. I like the quiet life, and am happy to be with you indoors, on walks, and on long car rides. Once I know that I can trust you, I am very affectionate and playful. I love tug with my squeaky stuffed animals and pounce-on-the-ball (not so much bringing-the-ball-back). I am very agile and quick, and love to run. I like to sit outside on the back porch in the sun and watch the world—and make sure no squirrels get into the yard.

I am housebroken and crate-trained, and put myself to bed at night. I know basic commands like sit and come. My natural manners are very good (although I’ll put paws up to see what’s happening on the kitchen counter, or when I’m really excited to see you). No food aggression here, and I’m polite about leaving you alone while you’re eating. I am a bit of a picky eater myself; I prefer my kibble mixed with canned food. I don’t eat most people food, but I LOVE my bones.

Continued careful socialization will be important for me; I am hand-shy when meeting new folks and prefer that they not rush up to me, but I am willing to give them a chance. I have met and been fine with dog-savvy, quiet children. Most loud noises don’t bother me, but I hide when the vacuum cleaner comes out. I am protective of my space and my person, and will bark or growl when strangers come to the door. It takes me a few minutes to feel sure visitors are safe.

I like other polite, calm dogs. My Taiwanese foster mom said I am not good with small dogs, but since I’ve been in the U.S. I’ve had a couple of fun romps with a Jack Russell and a Corgi, as well as a big Lab. I am being fostered with 3 cats, and we are coexisting peacefully. I like to herd them and lick them on the head. Squirrels are clearly The Enemy. Chasing them is one of my favorite hobbies. I am also fascinated by ice cubes, and love to play with them.

My ideal home would be a quiet one- or two-adult household, with a big yard I can guard from squirrels, and a cat or dog buddy. I am not the easiest dog, but I am worth building a relationship with. I may not be a Golden, but I have a golden heart.

Adoption fee:  $350 plus $35 microchip fee

Note:  Adopters will receive two free sessions with Maple’s current trainer.

Sex: Female
Age: 2 - 3 years old
Weight: About 45 pounds
Attributes: Dogs: Some; Cats: Yes; Kids: 10+ and dog-savvy
Availability: Now