Hi there!  I’m Lainey (#3495), the sweetest 8-year-old black lab you’ll ever meet.  I came from China the end of June and it appears I had quite a few litters before I arrived in the USA.  Now I’m here and ready to learn about the joys of being a house dog with my own family.

So far my most favorite thing is anything food-related, and you should see how I enthusiastic I am at mealtime.  I am a counter surfer, and I will try to see what’s on your counters.  Luckily, I’m so short I can’t really reach any of those goodies up high but I will still try if you aren’t watching.

Another favorite activity is going on walks where I can sniff all the new smells.  Or if you want a dog who likes car rides, that’s me too.  I settle down in the back seat and relax almost right away.

I’ve been a super star with house training, so far not one accident at my foster home!

My back legs are weak, we don’t know why.  It’s possible I was kept in an enclosed space without a chance to build proper muscles.  But with daily walks, good food, and patience I’ve gotten stronger.  I can now navigate the stairs to the upstairs bedroom with no issues although I sometimes lose control on the way down so for now I need a spotter.

My foster family has an adult male Golden Retriever who isn’t good at sharing his toys.  So whenever he wants his toys back I gladly give them to him.  I like having a dog friend around as I’m only just now learning how to play with another dog, and it sure has been fun to learn dog-wrestling.

The thing almost everyone comments on when they first meet me are my extra-large front paws, they’re like boxing gloves and on my short frame they seem to be even more noticeable.  The 2nd thing everyone says after meeting me is how sweet I am.

If you’re looking for a happy pupper who will be a good easy-going buddy I may be the one for you!  I’m going to get some dental issues sorted the second week of August and after that I’m hoping to find my forever family.

Adoption fee: $500 plus $35 microchip fee

 

Sex: Female
Age: 8+ Years
Weight: 45-65 Pounds
Availability: Now
Good with Dogs? yes
Good with Cats? unknown
Good with Kids? unknown