Joey joined our family right after the ice storm in February.  He is such a sweet boy and mellow for his age.  He loves going for walks around the neighborhood and is curious about everything. Everyone asks what kind of dog he is and surprised when we say golden retriever/greyhound.  He is handsome and sometimes looks in the mirror to check himself out.


We took a trip to the family farm.  Joey had so much fun once he got there. He still gets carsick every time, but hopefully he will grow out of that.  He enjoyed running around the fields and exploring with his brother Star.  Playing in the creek was a highlight.  We were a bit scared he would tear apart the house but he is very well behaved and tends to do what his brother Star is doing.


He likes to cuddle/lay on us while we watch tv.  We had to extend our bed so there was enough room for everyone!  Such a great addition to our family!



Hello, I’m Joey (#3326)! I came from China in December 2020. I am a 7-month old Golden/Greyhound mix, but I look like a skinny, long-limbed black lab. I am 52 lbs. I will probably fill out a bit more, but because of the greyhound in me I will probably always be a skinny boy!

I love playing chase and wrestling with other dogs. I love my foster brother and sister and will also make quick friends out of stranger dogs at the park. I have not had any experience with cats, but I think I would be okay with them because I am very gentle in nature. I think I would be good around older kids too. I am still a puppy and still jump up a bit, so I might knock over a small child.

Toys are great, and I need lots of them to chew on. I am a chewer! I like both hard toys I can gnaw on and soft ones I can rip apart. I will sometimes find something I am not supposed to chew on but am easily redirected with a different toy.

I am still a puppy and when I first got to the USA I had accidents in the house. Now I am much better and as long as I get to go out throughout the day, I do not have any accidents.

Car rides are scary to me. I get nervous and have had an accident in the car. I also get a bit carsick and drool (a lot!). I think with more car rides to fun places I will get used to it but I may need something to settle my stomach and make sure to empty my bladder first. Sitting on something waterproof and easily washable in the car might be a good idea to save my forever family some work cleaning the car.

I am a great walker and do fine on the leash, no collar required! I think I would make a great running buddy for someone.

My favorite thing to do is snuggle and I do not like to be alone. I hope my forever family lets me snuggle up with them on the couch and stays home most of the time. I do sleep in the crate next to the bed (I would definitely rather be ON the bed!), but I do not like to be left alone in the crate when my foster family leaves to go grocery shopping.

I am an incredibly sweet and loving boy and will make a great addition to your family!

Joey was adopted on February 18, 2021

Sex: Male
Age: 0-2 Years
Weight: 45-65 Pounds
Availability: Now
Good with Dogs? yes
Good with Cats? unknown
Good with Kids? unknown