Jesse #2861

Hi! Nĭ hăo! Hi! I’m Jesse (#2861) from Shanghai and I’m SO happy to be in the US (where I’ve been for 2 months now). I can’t really tell you about the first year of my life, but I know it wasn’t easy. You can see from my early picture (below) that I’d been picked up as a stray and fastened with a short chain in a scooter/bike parking lot to be a “guard dog” (I’m not really much good at guarding because all I want is attention and love from people and I don’t bark much). I got fed occasionally, sometimes given water, and was pretty much neglected until a nice man from New York who was visiting in China rescued me, found someone to get me to a vet, then send me to GBR! Whew! I was so excited, I think I could have flown here under my own power!

I’m about a year old boy, 60 lbs, and one very cute dog, if I do say so myself. Sometimes it pays to be cute because I don’t have the best manners in the world, but I’m willing to learn and I really like to please. Getting attention from nice people is about the best thing in the world – aside from having lots of toys! I have to admit, my mouth can get over active sometimes, so it’s best to give me lots of toys so that there’s always something to chew on and play with.

I’ve been described as being like an overgrown 12 week old puppy so I really need someone who will help me learn house manners, set some boundaries for me and teach me to respect them. I’ve been working on my leash manners and am getting better, but I still like to pull when there’s something interesting to check out. I’ve been described as “one very enthusiastic dog” – that’s good, right? Ya gotta love life, and I do. Oh, and did I mention that I love to play in water??

I do pretty well around other dogs, but I might be best as the only dog in the family. I’m a bit of an attention hog, but can you blame me after being on my own so long with no one to love me? I’m a golden, after all. I’d love to have someone who is home most of the time with me, but I can settle quietly in a kennel if you give me some toys to keep me occupied.

Basically, I’m a super sweet, happy, loving, energetic dog who needs a family of my own. I will do best with regular exercise, continued (and consistent) training, and oh yeah, LOTS of attention! Look into my eyes and you’ll fall in love with my golden heart. I’m ready to share all that golden love with you. Will you be the family to take the time and give me a chance to prove what a good dog I can be?

Adoption fee: $750 plus $35 microchip fee

Jesse’s early picture:

 

 

Sex: Male
Age: One year old
Weight: 60 pounds
Attributes: Dogs: No; Cats: Unknown; Kids: Unknown
Availability: Now