Iris #3194

I’m Iris (#3194), one of the flower dogs from China. I flew in on a long flight from Beijing on May 29 and came to my foster home the next day (after a trip to the dog wash because I was filthy and matted). I’m pretty sure my past included time being groomed because I know how to sit still and enjoy being bathed, brushed, hair trimmed, nails cut, and getting all kinds of nice attention. And I sure look and feel a whole lot better now – aren’t I a pretty girl?

I’m about 2 years old, weigh about 58 lbs and even though my feet are big, the rest of me is rather petite. For a young girl, I’m quite low energy most of the time and I like going into my crate on my own to sleep. I settle well in the house and like to be near my people as I love people and attention.

But what I love most is balls! Get out the balls and I’m ready to run! I’ll play fetch, bring the balls back to you, and I’m ready to go again, and again, and again! Even though I’m very food motivated, treats don’t hold a candle to balls. I’m fine having people pick up the balls because I know they’ll throw them again, but I’m not into sharing with other dogs. Ball is MY thing! (My foster mom says something about my being ball obsessed – can’t imagine who wouldn’t be. And she has to work at hiding the balls when our play session is done because I’ll hunt and hunt for those balls – I have a really good nose!).

I do very well around other dogs and have even learned to sit and wait for treats while my foster brothers get theirs. But I can be a bit protective sometimes of certain things and on occasionhave to let another dog know to keep away. I am very food motivated so my foster mom finds it’s best to let me rest in my crate while she’s preparing food or trying to eat something herself. I can’t understand why she doesn’t want my help!!

Going for walks certainly wasn’t of interest to me in the beginning, and now I’ll go along for the walk, but I could take it or leave it. I’ll join my foster brothers in sniffing sometimes but mostly I just meander back and forth, waiting to head home. I do like to watch for birds (whoa, you should have seen that big turkey in our yard this morning!!).

Overall, I’m a pretty easy girl. I do need some training in keeping “four on the floor” when food comes out, but I walk nicely on a leash, am quiet in the house, am doing really well with house training, and would like a family of my own that I don’t have to share with other dogs. My greatest desire is to have a nice yard big enough to chase a ball and someone to throw the ball for me every day. That’s what makes me happiest.

Could you be the family I’m looking for?

Iris was adopted on June 24, 2019

 

Sex: Female
Age: 2 years
Weight: 58 pounds
Attributes: Dogs: Yes, but prefer solo; Cats: Unknown; Kids: 10+
Availability: ADOPTED