Hi, I’m Hera (#3347)! I’m a copper-toned 3-year old Golden goddess who’s learning new reasons daily to love life in America. Some would say I’m a bit stout, but I’d like to think at least some of my 50(ish) pounds are my luxurious locks!

When I arrived in America, I was pretty stressed from all the new sights and smells included with travel.  The stress resulted in my lashing out at other dogs and being absolutely petrified with anything that occurred outside of my crate. After some quiet time to decompress, I feel much safer now and look to my human to help me feel confident with all of the fun new things I’m doing! I’m still not a fan of loud noises or things that move faster than I do, but I’m caring less and less every time I leave the house.

Once I realized I didn’t have to be scared of other dogs, I even made some buds! I prefer the calm to moderate energy types, and I tend to match the vibe of the rest of the party. Dogs that wrestle, play bite, or jump on me tend to test my patience, but I usually give some good warning words before I hit my limit.  (This is HUGE progress from where we started just a few weeks ago!) It’ll probably be a bit longer before I want to make wild dogs part of my crew, but I think I would actually prefer a calm four-legged brother or sister in my new home to really show me the ropes and teach me what being a dog in America is all about. I’m still trying to figure out what toys are good for though I could probably play chase until I ran a hole in the ground.  Of course, learning about toys and playing chase are best done with a partner.

I think cats are…weird. I have one as a roommate in my foster home but I don’t think I’ll want one again at my next place.  What I AM looking for are people that like to be outside! I absolutely love any adventure and sit so politely in the front seat of the car while we head there. My foster mom takes me on long walks every day, and I make it pretty easy on her by trying not to pull and staying extra focused. I wasn’t too strong when I came here, but I’ve been working hard on my fitness and think I might even like that thing she calls “hiking” sometime soon!

I’m still a little undecided about little humans as roommates. Smaller ones are a bit too loud and unpredictable for my taste so I tend to try to avoid them. Anyone big enough to take me on walks and hand out gentle belly scratches is my kind of people!

I’ve got this extra bit of skin to love on the back of my neck, but the vet said it’s nothing to worry about and it doesn’t bother me at all…plus, it gives a little extra sway to my back so when I walk it gives me the BEST posterior-view shimmy. When I wear my raincoat (huge, HUGE fan of the raincoat!), it’s even better.

I know I’ve got a way to go to really get this whole “dog” thing figured out, but I’m hoping with humans willing to give me some patience and space, I’ll keep coming into my own.

Adoption fee: $900 plus $35 microchip fee

 

Sex: Female
Age: 2-5 Years
Weight: 45-65 Pounds
Availability: Now
Good with Dogs? unknown
Good with Cats? no
Good with Kids? unknown