Hazel #2819

Hi Everyone – my name is Hazel and I’m a 2 year old golden retriever.  I think I was born in Beijing China, but I can’t tell you much about my past.  All I know is that I was hit by a car; wow that really hurt!  Somehow I got picked up and taken to a dog hospital where they took care of me…and did I ever need help.  My left hip was dislocated so I needed a FHO and my right hind leg was broken in 3 places, which needed a plate, a rod and screws.  After my surgery, I couldn’t put much weight on my hind legs so I had to be very careful.  A couple of weeks later, my broken leg had to be operated on again.  But now, all of that is in my past and I got to travel to my final destination – Oregon and I’m looking forward to a great life!

Hazel’s Update:

Good news:  I graduated from the Healing Arts Animal Clinic in Beaverton where I had my physical therapy and laser treatments which helped me so much.  Now that I’m healthy I can do just about everything other young, active dogs can do.  I run up and down hills, play with other dogs, jump on the sofas and I get into mischief.  If I had one favorite toy it would be an indestructible red ball, I chase them and carry them around in my mouth.

Now we’re ready to find the right person/family for me.  I want to become a family member who will play with me, take me for walks and if you’re up for running, I can do that too if it’s not a long run.  I’m also very social so I’m the perfect dog that can go everywhere like outdoor coffee shops and restaurants.  Everyone loves to pet me and I love the attention too.  After all that activity, I’ll take a long nap.

Because I’ve had surgeries on my hind legs, I would prefer to live in a single level house.  I can climb stairs now, but as I get older, it may become a problem for me.   Finally, I may need additional treatment later in my life.

If you are interested in adopting me, my foster mom will tell you all about me.

Hazel was adopted on September 3, 2017

 

 

 

Sex: Female
Age: 2 years old
Weight: 70 pounds
Attributes: Dogs: Yes; Cats: Unknown; Kids: Over 10
Availability: Now