My name is Florence (#3378) and I am a Newfoundland who arrived in the United States from China in November.  I am the size of a tall Golden Retriever and my veterinarian says that I have a Golden Retriever personality.  I am not the bravest soldier in the squad.  I am submissive though I have excitable greetings.  In the house, I have a bad habit of walking sideways right in front of my fosters, sort of blocking their path.  If it’s meal time, it’s even worse.  I LOVE to eat!  I’m learning to walk nicely on a leash; however, I don’t enjoy walks much because traffic and loud noises scare me.

I am mostly calm and quiet around the house until about 8:00 PM then I come alive and want to run around and play.  I make scary growly sounds when I play but it’s usually just noise…sometimes, though, I can get a little too rough.  I really should have another young dog around who will play with me.  I get along well with my foster family’s three resident female dogs and I think I would be fine with a male dog as well.  I recently learned to play “fetch.”  Oh what fun!

I am scheduled for entropion surgery on January 6th and will be available for adoption once my eyes have healed.  I seem to have a food allergy and my foster family is trying to figure out what it is – my skin is itchy and that may be related to the food allergy.
I recently gained three pounds in two weeks, but I am still quite thin and need to continue to gain more weight.  In case you can’t tell from my photos, my foster family describes me as a “beautiful liver color with some red highlights here and there.”  I’m looking forward to finding my forever family.
Florence was adopted on January 30, 2021
Sex: Female
Age: 0-2 Years
Weight: 65-100 Pounds
Availability: Probably in mid-January
Good with Dogs? yes
Good with Cats? unknown
Good with Kids? unknown