Hello!  Douglas Fur (#3623) here (most folks call me “Doug”).  The name fits me well it seems since “sniff walks” around the neighborhood are one of my favorite things to do and those trees do smell especially good!

I’ve been here with my foster family a few weeks now and all things considered, it’s going pretty well.  At first I wasn’t  particularly happy about the 3 residents dogs and sharing attention, but don’t mind hanging out with them now that we’ve gotten acquainted.  I’ll even have a little play romp with the young Labrador Retriever here for a short bit now, but all-in-all, I have to say I really prefer my humans over the canines.   No resident cats here, so not sure how I’d feel about them but likely would adapt well to a nice, friendly one once we came to a proper understanding.  I do admit to still getting a bit jealous when my foster siblings get their share of attention (darned green-eyed monster gets the best of me!).  Ultimately, I think I’d just love to be your “only” dog so I’d have no worries and could focus all my loving devotion on you.

To be honest, I don’t really like it when my people are gone.  If given a choice I’d rather go with you (love, love those car rides!), but understand I can’t always go.  Don’t care much for crates, though I will voluntarily go into one to lay down as long as the door stays open.  With more positive reinforcement, or even calming scents like Adaptil it could become a more “zen” place for me to hang out if needed.  The good news is that my foster mom says I’m doing fine having the run of the room for a short while when she’s gone (very proud of me for being “accident” free every time and not chewing on anything I’m not supposed to).

At 1 & 1/2 years old I am still very much a pup with plenty of energy to burn through daily so if you’re up for a great walking or running partner, I’m your guy!   My foster friends say I’m doing great on a leash with less “excitement pulling” so it’s much more fun for all now.  Do enjoy a fun game of ball or toy-tug too, but after getting my exercise I’m pretty content to be a total dog bed snoozer/couch potato while lying as close to my favorite humans as possible.

Not to be too braggy, but word is that “I’m such a good boy with a really fun personality”.  Give me some of your time and patience to get there and we’ll become friends for life indeed.  Can’t wait to meet you!

A bit more about Doug from foster mom:  This boy is such a sweet one with a great heart.  He’s not had an easy beginning in life, but with time attaches himself to anyone that gives him loving care and attention.  Initially we were told he may have problems trusting men, but really after given a chance has gotten quite fond of his foster dad (favorite human of the moment).  Doug’s fear/trust issues with strangers may take more support or additional training (slow, pleasant introductions will be key) but ultimately he will be an awesome, loving companion.

Adoption fee: $400 plus $35 microchip fee

 

 

Sex: Male
Age: 0-2 Years
Weight: 45-65 Pounds
Availability: Now
Good with Dogs? yes
Good with Cats? unknown
Good with Kids? unknown