Hi Future Family/BFF!

My name is Diamond (#3653) and I am a 9-year old female golden retriever. For the first nine years of my life, I was a breeding dog who lived in a crate in a garage. I didn’t get the healthcare I needed so I’ve had some catching up to do! In addition to my dislocated hip, I broke my toe a while back and it is healing up just fine but that’s why I’m wearing a splint in the photo below. Thanks to Golden Bond Rescue, we’ve got me on all the right meds and supplements.

The thing EVERYONE says about me is that I am very sweet and docile. I’ll let you clean my ears, trim the fur on my paws or brush me, and won’t move a muscle or squirm. I love to have my belly rubbed and enjoy attention, but I’m not super needy. I love my crate and am content looking out the screen door and watching the world walk by. I would also love to have a yard to hang out in. I like to roll in the grass. It feels great on my back.

I’m enjoying my new life with my foster mom and love being in the house, but don’t need to be with you all of the time.  I don’t whine or bark when left alone. Sometimes I pick up an article of clothing and take it into the crate with me to sleep at night. I don’t chew on it; I just like to have it with me. I also have a blanket I LOVE.

I can take a short walk around the block, but with my dislocated hip, I don’t want to go very far. But if I want to move, well, then, I can move faster than you think for an old girl like me.

I am as stubborn as I am sweet. I’ll move when I’m ready and don’t rush me. If I don’t want to move, I just go limp.  I am getting better at moving when it’s time to go, and my foster mom thinks I’ll get it figured out, but it will require your patience. Treats help!

Sometimes I bark at other dogs — and sometimes I don’t. It might be best for me to start out as the only dog in the house, and slowly introduce me to other dogs you know are nice. I could care less about cats.

I like car rides and am a great passenger, but it is difficult for me to get out of the car so sometimes I need help.

I do not like loud noises like thunder or fireworks. Thank goodness they make sedatives for things like that!

Adoption fee: $350 plus $35 microchip fee

Sex: Female
Age: 8+ Years
Weight: 65-100 Pounds
Availability: TBD
Good with Dogs? unknown
Good with Cats? yes
Good with Kids? unknown