Hello, I am Chief (#3710)! I am an 8 1/2-year old boy that is 75 pounds of affection and love. I used to be a breeding dog, and lived outside most of my life. In the first 8 years of my life, I did not receive a lot of human attention, so I am currently trying to make up for lost time by reminding my foster parents I am right next to them so I can get scratches and pets. Attention from my foster parents is at the top of my list of things I love. But just as important to me are my daily walks, fetch and swimming. I am not very good at fetch but you can take the toy right out of my mouth and I never put up a fight. I am a very skilled swimmer and do very well on walks with my harness and leash.  After my morning walks, I like to take a big long nap while my foster dad works in the office. I’m really low maintenance and am a really mellow guy.  I do like to bark at the neighbors in the backyard and sometimes people walking by scare me so I’ll bark through the fence.  Once my foster parents call me and tell me it’s okay, I stop right away.

I currently am living with my two foster brothers who are also golden retrievers. I like them, but I am not sure how to play with them. They have taught me how to “sit”  and how to share toys.  I’m still not totally sure what “down” means, but my foster parents seem to say it when they don’t want me jumping on things and people. I would be fine living in a home with another dog, but I also enjoy being the center of attention so if I was the only dog in the house that would be fine too! Since I am used to being the “alpha” dog my whole life I get along with every dog except another “alpha” dog like myself.

When I was neutered the doctors found a low grade mast cell tumor and completely removed it.  They said it had good margins and no metastasizing.  But my foster parents say any family that adopts me will need to pay extra special attention to skin tags and lumps and bumps to make sure I stay healthy.

My ideal family would take me for walks and occasionally take me to swim. Hopefully they will be around during the day to give me all the love and attention I was missing from my earlier years. Although I am 8 1/2, I still have a lot of spunk left and keep up with my foster brothers who are 2 and 6! I am fully potty-trained and would love a yard where I can lay in the dirt when the sun is shining and soak up lazy afternoons.

Adoption fee: $500 plus $35 microchip fee


Sex: Male
Age: 8+ Years
Weight: 65-100 Pounds
Availability: Now
Good with Dogs? unknown
Good with Cats? unknown
Good with Kids? unknown