I am Barry (#3768), a male Rough-coated Collie, about 8-years old, from So. Korea.  I have been gentle, sweet and kind to every person and animal I’ve met – from 7 months to 70 years of age – since arriving in the U.S.  I am a bit shy at first but once I warm up to you, I’m all yours.  I would very much would love to find a forever home where I will be loved and can be near my human(s) all the time.

I am extremely easy on walks, have no issues on leash, and am learning routines and manners.  I am also learning English and reacting more to commands.  I need someone who will be consistent and patient with me as I continue learning.

In the time since I’ve been in my foster home, I have shown no nervous habits like chewing or excessive barking.  I get along exceptionally well with the two female dogs at my foster home and have had no issues with other animals, including cats.  While my interaction with cats has only been during vet visits, I was in close contact (sniffed nose-to-nose hellos) and the interactions were completely uneventful, as they were with the puppies and other dogs I met at the vet’s office.

While I am a bit senior to the other dogs at my foster home, I attempt to play with them at their level, engage in patrols with as much enthusiasm as they do, am keen on snacking and cuddling alongside them, and am actively learning from their behaviors.  I would do well in a home with another dog companion.  My living conditions before are unknown, but I did suffer some muscle loss in my back legs and am currently taking a medicine to help with osteoarthritis.  With that, I can be a bit slow to start after long naps, but once I’m up and moving, I do very well.  I am good on daily walks for up to a half-mile, or for about a half-hour.  I will happily go on longer walks, however, shorter ones seem to suit be better. Excessive exercise is probably not very good for my osteoarthritis.

Adoption fee: $500 plus $35 microchip fee

 

Sex: Male
Age: 5-8 Years
Weight: 65-100 Pounds
Availability: NOW
Good with Dogs? yes
Good with Cats? yes
Good with Kids? yes