My name is Auggie (#3681).  I am a bee-u-tee-ful (if I must say so myself) 2.5-year-old Labrador Retriever.  You looking for a sugar cube, 90-pound athletic pup who LOVES playing fetch and spending time by your side?  Look no further, you have found him – ME!  Do you need help fetching a ball or one of my toys? I’m your guy. If you need help getting rid of those doggie treats, just let me know.

During the day, I will follow you around and sleep right next to you as you work. I am a Velcro doggy! I would be a great fit for someone who works from home as I’m chill during the day. I am a very smart boy and pick up training quickly; I know basic commands, such as “sit”, “down”, “stay”, and “come” and have have figured out the doggy door-bell to go outside and will get better with practice. Whilst I love being around my Foster Pawrents I can be left alone for several hours at a time so they can do other things.

OK so now it’s time to tell you where I need help. I get really excited when I see another dog, so my foster family has been working with me and a trainer to help me understand that I’m not in danger. I walk great on leash but right now, I just can’t handle walking down the street without getting upset when a bike passes by or another dog shows up. Gosh, I’m just worried they’re going to hurt me. GBR has a special trainer in place who will work with me and you (I hope it’s you) to show me how to focus my anxiety toward a toy or watch my forever family for security.

My future home will need a large fenced yard where I can play fetch and get exercise since off leash dog parks may never be an option for me. I know you might be thinking, “Hey, Auggie can ever be around another dog?” I can, but it just needs to be the right “other” dog. Before coming to GBR, I lived with a female shepherd and did fine. Having another calm, quiet, loving sister dog might be just the thing for me. Maybe she could show me that other dogs aren’t all mean and we could wrestle.

I have been taking anxiety medication, and I’ve shown some amazing positive improvements (like scary things on TV). I will most likely need medication long term to manage my anxiety. Don’t let that stop you from meeting me, please. The meds are pretty cheap and I take them willingly.

My foster family believes I would do well in a home with someone who is patient and willing to spend time on training with me (GBR will assist with this). Due to my size, my foster family recommends a home with older kids only as I can jump up sometimes.

I really am a very sweet boy and I think I will grow on you quickly. Will you please give me a chance and at least come meet me? I promise not to give you too many slobbery kisses.

Adoption fee: $750 plus $35 microchip fee

 

 

Sex: Male
Age: 2-5 Years
Weight: 65-100 Pounds
Availability: Now
Good with Dogs? unknown
Good with Cats? unknown
Good with Kids? yes